Hello again everyone.

We’ve recently put on line a new issue of Frank Allen’s own newsletter.  In it, amongst other things, he talks about some special visitors to recent shows, and explains in some detail why unfortunately the Searchers won’t be doing their usual Australian tour early next year.  I know all the fans in Australia will be very disappointed by this decision, but we hope they will understand that the boys’ health and welfare really does have to come first.   As always, Frank answers some more of your questions at the end of the newsletter.  I hope you enjoy reading it all.

All the Searchers shows for the rest of the year, as they stand at the moment, are on the dates list including another run of the Sixties Gold tour in the autumn, also featuring Gerry & the Pacemakers (Gerry’s farewell tour apparently), Brian Poole & the Tremeloes (Chip Hawkes and Dave Munden), Vanity Fare and Steve Ellis (of Love Affair).

As many of you are already asking about next year, we have now added to the list all the dates confirmed so far for the first six months of 2018.  Please note, however, that not many of them are actually on sale yet, and may not be for some while.  So just put them in your diaries for now, and try to be patient until they are.  Although I expect more dates will be added in due course, it is good to know that the boys have realised that the oh-so-hectic schedule of the last few years was not good for their health, and they are hopefully perhaps slowing down just a little.  We’d rather see them less frequently than not at all, of course.

Frank’s very detailed 2009 hardback book 
The Searchers And Me is still in print.  It is ONLY available direct from Aureus Publishing - from the above link, read all about it and follow the instructions to place an order. Click here for a message from Frank, which includes a whole chapter from the book which we hope will encourage you to buy it.  If you bring your copy along to a show, Frank will be pleased to autograph it for you.

And if you’ve never read Frank’s first book “Travelling Man - On The Road With The Searchers” (originally published in hardback in 1999 and now out of print) - it is now available as an electronic version to download for Kindles etc from various Amazon sites worldwide.

Could I again remind those of you who now go direct to the most popular webpages, without going via the Home page, that there are some comprehensive articles about the Searchers’ career accessible from links down the left hand side of that page: These include three very comprehensive “history” pages and very detailed coverage - with plenty of pictures - of their guitars and other stage equipment.  There are technical reasons why these additional links are only available from the home page, but unless you sometimes access the site via there, you’re missing at least half of all the website has to offer.

Finally, if you would like to be on my mailing list to be advised whenever this and other pages are updated, or when there is any important news to relay, please email me (see below) including mentioning please which country you are in if your email address doesn’t show it, as I keep separate mailing lists for each continent.

26 July

Wendy Burton
    Website Editor/Co-ordinator